The difference between Kosher and Halal

Halal and Kosher follow two different dietary food regulations. Kosher foods are prepared in accordance with traditional Jewish laws while Halal foods are ingredients permitted under Islamic law, as defined by the Quran. Both Kosher and Halal diets set strict guidelines regarding which foods are allowed and restricted based on religious teachings.

Even so, some people believe that the two types of regulation are interchangeable when needed. Halal & Kosher do some similarities; in semantics Kosher comes from Hebrew and means “appropriate” and “acceptable”. Halal is an Arabic word and means “legal”; however, they are different entities and differ in both meaning and spirit.

HalalKosher
IntroductionḤalal is anything that is permissible according to Islamic law. The term covers and designates not only food and drink as permissible according to Islamic law, but also all matters of daily life.Kosher foods are those that conform to the regulations of kashrut, the Jewish dietary law. Kosher also describes anything that is permissible and fitting for a Jew.
GuidelinesFollows Islamic dietary lawFollows Jewish dietary law
Etymology“Halal” in Arabic means permissible or lawful.Derived from the Hebrew word “Kashrut,” which means proper or fit.
RootsQuranTorah
How to SlaughterQuick and swift at single point on the throat; blood has to be completely drained.Quick and swift at single point on the throat; blood has to be completely drained.
SlaughtererAnimal must be slaughtered by a Muslim.Animal must be slaughtered by a Jew
PrayerRequires prayer to Allah before every slaughter.A blessing is said before and after the slaughter.
Fruit & VegetablesConsidered HalalConsidered Kosher only if there are no bugs in them.
Meat & DairyCan be consumed togetherCannot be consumed together
AlcoholProhibited
Allowed. Religious leaders encourage moderation. For wine to be considered kosher, the entire wine-making process must be supervised or handled by Sabbath-observant Jews. Also, all ingredients must be kosher.
ProductsAnimals raised and slaughtered humanely, according to Islamic guidelines. Halal certification. Most Kosher, Vegetarian, and Vegan products are permissible.Animals slaughtered according to Jewish law. Kosher certification on meats and processed foods. All fruits and vegetables, grains, legumes, in their natural state which have been found free of insect infestation.
MeatHerbivorous land animals (except for domestic donkeys), birds (except for crows and birds of prey), certain insects, and all kinds of seafood are permitted.Mammals that have split hooves and chew their cud. Birds that are not listed as forbidden by the Torah and which have a custom of being eaten by one’s community. Fish that have fins and scales . No other creatures except certain locusts.
Processed foodPermittedMust be supervised by kosher authorities to be sure no non-kosher ingredients.
DairyPermittedOnly from kosher mammals.
Reasons for permitting/forbidding specific foodsReligiousReligious

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *